Leytonstone is in the:

  • London Borough of Waltham Forest
  • North East London constituency for the Greater London Authority
  • Leyton and Wanstead Parliamentary consituency
  • London Region constituency for the European Parliament.

London Borough of Waltham Forest Councillors

Leytonstone is covered by four Council wards, each with three councillors. As the historic area of Leytonstone does not have formally recognised boundaries, ward boundaries for Forest ward also cover areas that are usually described as Leyton. The London Borough of Waltham Forest website has a page for each councillor which includes background information, contact details and surgeries.

If you’re not certain which ward you live in, you can put your postcode into the Find Councillor page on the London Borough of Waltham Forest website and it will tell you.

  • Forest ward: covering the Whipps Cross area, parts of Upper Leytonstone and down to Grove Green
  • Leytonstone ward: covering the rest of Upper Leytonstone, the Town Centre, Bushwood and Ferndale areas
  • Cathall
  • Cann Hall

Forest ward

Leytonstone ward

Cann Hall ward

Cathall ward

Correspondence address for all councillors:
Waltham Forest Town Hall
Forest Road
E17 4JF

For the full results see the London Borough of Waltham Forest election results page.

Greater London Authority (GLA)

The Greater London Authority is headed by the Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, who was elected in 2008. The next election is May 2012.

The GLA has the strategic role to design a better future for the capital and supporting the office of the Mayor and supporting the London Assembly in their role of scrutinising the work of the Mayor. High profile responsibilities include Transport for London, the Metropolitan Police and responsibility for planning the 2012 Olympics.

The London Assembly

There are 25 Assembly Members who hold the Mayor to account and also champion Londoners’ concerns by investigating important issues and pressing for changes to national, mayoral or local policy. Eleven represent the whole capital and 14 are elected by constituencies. Assembly Members are elected at the same time as the Mayor of London.

  • Jennette Arnold AM is the member of the Greater London Authority (GLA) for the North East London constituency, which takes in the whole of Waltham Forest, including Leytonstone.


Jenette Arnold
Greater London Authority
City Hall
The Queens Walk
London SE1 2AA
T: 020 7983 4357

Mayor of London

The Mayor of London “sets a citywide vision of improvement, develops strategies and policies to realise the vision and provides funding and encouragement to help make it a reality.” See the Greater London Authority website for more details.

The Mayor of London is not to be confused with the old historic post Lord Mayor of London, who is head of the City of London Corporation.

The next Mayoral and Assembly member elections are due in May 2012.

Member of Parliament (MP)

  • John Cryer MP (Labour)


c/o House of Commons
London SW1A 0AA
T: 020 7219 7100

Surgery details

Every Friday at 877 High Road, Leytonstone E11 1HR. For an appointment, constituents should call 020 8989 5249 or email

The current Government has introduced fixed-term Parliaments and the next General Election is due in May 2015.




John Cryer Labour 17,511
Farooq Quereshi Liberal Democrat 11,095
Ed Northover Conservative 8,928
Graham Wood UK Independence Party 1,080
Ashley Gunstock The Green Party 562
Jim Clift British National Party 561
Sonia Bhatti Christian Party 342
Martin Levin Independents Federation UK 80

General election result pie chart

Members of the European Parliament (MEP)

The UK is divided into twelve electoral regions made up of the nations and regions of the UK. Each region has between three and ten MEPs and each MEP in a region represents each person living there. There are 72 UK MEPs in total, 8 for London.

The European Parliament is elected every five years, the next elections are due in June 2014.


List and contact details for the London Members of the European Parliament.

T: 020 7227 4300
European Parliament Information Office in the UK website